Speak Up 2013

The article Speak Up 2013 speaks volumes to the growing use of technology and how much/or little it is being used in the classroom. One of the first things that caught my attention was the chart about teacher’s use of technology in the classroom. It said that 75% of high school teachers have a website where students can access information. On the opposite end of the chart, it says that only 35% of high school students have devices provided to them by the school. This seems so contradicting to having an online website. I think ALL teachers should be required to use this website. It alleviates so much stress. All makeup work and all assignments/test dates are posted so students have zero excuses to not have their work turned in on time. It also allows students to study powerpoints for tests because you can post them after you give the lecture in class. This also allows students who miss class to complete the notes at home and be ready to take the test next time they are back at school. Now the problem with NOT having computer provided to all of these students is that there are many low income students and ELL students who do not have internet access or a computer at home. It seems useless to have 75% of teachers using a website to post information but then not provide students with the technology to access it from. Having taught ELL,  I think that teachers should be required to use their schools websites to post their classroom information and that students (especially the ones without a computer or device at home) should be provided this piece of technology.

As the article continues, there is another chart (I like charts, it categorizes information for me so I can understand everything being said) about students using technology for school purposes. Now I am going to call a big BS on the fact that only 75/73% of girls and 66/60% of boys use technology to communicate about school work. Students are constantly connected with each other and if you are telling me that only 2/3rds of male students are texting their buddy about what the homework is or what they missed in class, then you are a bold face liar. Now I can believe that students are probably not skyping each other about assignments but I like to believe that students use their cell phones and computers to interact with their group members more than this article lets on. Also, I believe that students are not using facebook as much either because when I mentioned Facebook to my class of junior students they laughed at me like I just mentioned listening to Miley Cyrus on a record player. I made a mental note at that moment: “Do not mention Facebook as a means of communication. You will be laughed at and mocked.”

As I continue reading, I am starting to doubt the credibility of this article. I just laughed outloud and then yelled “bullshit” again at my computer. (Sorry for the bad word hehe). You are fricken kidding me if you say that 21% of k-2 students have a personal cell phone. I want to have WORDS with those parents. WHAT ARE YOU DOING??? Don’t come crying to me when little Johnny finds out what a vayjayjay looks like accidentally when you are not watching him on his cell phone. Sorry, I am a bit beyond myself right now. I’m starting to think they interview a school full of celebrities’s children. Just kidding….kind of.

As I continue reading this article, I do see some of the greatness and weaknesses of technology. On a high note, it seems that for the most part, parents, teachers, and principals tend to be on the same page. Sometimes the students seem to be there too. I think that if the adults can learn more about technology and safe and controlled ways of implementing it in the school, then students should be allowed to access it. I think much of where students want more freedom over their technology is because they are thinking more for the social aspect but saying they will use it for school resources. I do believe that cell phones should be allowed to be used in the classroom SOMETIMES when students are doing research and there are no computer labs or laptops available. I also think that there should be more programs set up so students can access information and assignments from teachers and their schools. Students said they want a way of communicating with their teachers 24/7. Now that seems a bit intrusive and excessive but I think that if a teacher gives out their email address that students should be able to email their teachers and get a prompt response. Teachers never stop working really but they do deserve to have a day off. They are people with lives too. Which I know many students forget.

Overall, this article was shocking. There was so much information I disagreed with but then there were statistics that I thought were pretty accurate. I think what it really shows me is that teachers/ administration need to adjust their technology rules while students need to work on controlling what they use their internet for while they are at school. I also think that it speaks volumes that students want to use more technology in the classroom. Teachers need to rise to what the students are asking and provide them with ways they want to learn. If you give them what they want then hopefully they will learn new information through these technological methods. Technology is a a give and take and the use of it in schools can slowly be changed by the teachers who want to and the generation that is being taught to be teachers now.

When I plan my instruction, I will be sure to add technology into my unit so that students have the access to the methods they want.

Leave a comment